Executive Recruitment

Political composition

The council has 38 elected members and since 2011, political control has been with the Conservative party.

23 current councillors are Conservative, 8 are Liberal Democrats, 4 are Brockworth First, 2 are Tewkesbury and Twyning Independents and 1 is Green.

Our Peer Review in 2020 noted that “Elected members from all parties are positive about governance and decision-making processes, citing a particularly good approach to consensus building and collaborative decision making”.

Tewkesbury Borough’s Members of Parliament are Mark Harper (Cons) and Laurence Robertson (Cons).